Font Size:

Board of Trustees Minutes - April 26, 2016

Trinity Valley Community College
The Trinity Valley Community College Board of Trustees met in regular session at 4:37 p.m. on Monday, April 25, 2016 in the Board Room of the Orval Pirtle Administration Building in Athens, with the following members present:
Mr. Ray Raymond             Mr. Kenneth McGee        Mr. Homer Norville
Mr. David Monk                 Mr. Jerry Stone                 Mr. Steve Grant
Dr. Charlie Risinger          Mr. Ron Day                     Mrs. Paula Kimball           
1. Mr. Stone opened the meeting with prayer.
2. There were no public comments.

3. There was no public information report.
4. The following topics were discussed or reviewed in the President’s
·       Cheer Team Results
·       Theatre Department Play
·       Scholarship Presentations
·       Cardette Spring Show highlights
·       Earth Day
·       Tyson Alredge – Tie Down Roping in CNFR
·       Phi Theta Kappa
·       Texas Intercollegiate Press Association Awards
·       Student Government Association Awards
·       TDCJ Graduation
·       ACCT Leadership Congress – October 5 – 8   – New Orleans
·       Athletic Banquet and Awards – Tuesday, April 26th
·       Band Concert – April 26th Auditorium 7:00
·       Spring Art Show – April 26th  through May 1st Library
·       Spring Choir Concert – May 1st FBC 3:00
·       Student Life Banquet and Awards – Thursday, April 28th
·       TVCC Spring Graduation – ADN May 12, 6:30. May 13, 4:00 & 6:30
·       TVCC Foundation Golf Tournament – Monday May 16th Pinnacle
·       Next TVCC Regularly Scheduled Board Meeting – June 27th
5. Mrs. Kimball moved, seconded by Mr. Stone, the minutes to the March 28, 2016 Board Meeting be approved.  Motion carried unanimously.
6. Mr. McGee moved, seconded by Mr. Day, the Board approve the business, financial and investment reports for March 2016.  Motion carried unanimously. 
7. Mr. Grant moved, seconded by Mr. Stone, the Board approve the Room and Board rates for 2016-2017.  Motion carried unanimously.   
8. Mr. Norville moved, seconded by Mr. Monk, the Board approve the  renewal of  the Cain Center agreement as presented.   Motion carried unanimously.
9. Mr. Monk moved, seconded by Mr. Norville, the Board approve the 2016 Summer/Fall Continuing and Workforce Education Schedule and associated tuition and fees.  Motion carried unanimously.
10.      Mr. Monk moved, seconded by Mr. Grant, the Board approve the appointment of Pam Burton, Jim Pitts, Jeaneane Lilly, Will Traxson, Mike Peek, and Paul Benson as additional members to the TVCC Foundation Board.  Motion carried unanimously.
11.      Mr. Raymond appointed an ad-hoc committee to finalize the details for the Health Science Center facility and to make recommendations to the Board as soon as possible.  The committee will consist of Dr. Risinger – Chair, Mr. Monk, and Mr. Grant.
12.               Mr. Stone moved, seconded by Mrs. Kimball, the Board go into closed session at 5:07 p.m. to deliberate the purchase, exchange, lease or value of real property pursuant to Texas Government Code 551.072; to conduct a private consultation with its attorney pursuant to Texas Government Code Section 551.071; or any of the following personnel matters in accordance with Texas Government Code Section 551.074.  Motion carried unanimously. 
                       The President requested that 12.e from the Agenda be discussed in open session.
13.  Mr. Stone moved, seconded by Mr. Grant, the Board return from closed session at 7:09 p.m.  Motion carried unanimously.
14. Mr. Raymond asked for a motion to table the discussion of the evaluation of the President.  Dr. Risinger made the motion, seconded by Mr. Norville, motion carried unanimously.
15.  Mrs. Kimball moved, seconded by Mr. Norville, the Board approve the following personnel actions:
        a. Retirements/Resignations/Reductions in Force
            (1) Davy Smith, Campus Building Services Manager
            (2) Tara Rigby, Administrative Assistant, Music Department
            (3) Phillip Dorman, Horticulture Instructor, TDCJ
        b. New Hires:
            (1) James Robertson, Student Financial Aid Specialist, Veterans
            (2) Margaret Alvarado, Accounting Specialist, Accounts Payable
        c. Reclassifications/Transfers/Adjustments:
           (1) Adam Estes, Campus Police Officer to Campus Police Investigator
        d. Other personnel and land issues
           (1) Salary reclassification for Lori Jackson
Motion carried unanimously.
16.  Mr. Raymond gave the floor to the President to respond to a complaint or charge regarding the College President.  Questions were asked by various members of the Board.
17. Mrs. Kimball moved, seconded by Mr. Stone, the Board suspend the President’s employment with pay pending further investigation.  Motion carried unanimously.
18.  Dr. Risinger moved, seconded by Mr. Norville, to adjourn the meeting at 7:40 p.m.  Motion carried unanimously.
__________________________________         ____________________
Submitted By                                                                Date
__________________________________          ____________________
Approved By                                                                  Date
Posted Date:
4/27/2016 8:36:18 AM