Trinity Valley Community College

Public and Sports Information

100 Cardinal Dr.

Athens, TX 75751
(903) 675-6322 and (903) 675-6327

Office Hours:




Sports Information Officer

Public Information Officer

RSS News

RSS Sports

Board of Trustees Minutes for July 24, 2012
Posted: 7/24/2012 10:39:22 AM

Trinity Valley Community College
The Trinity Valley Community College Board of Trustees met in regular session at 7:30 p.m. on Monday, July 23, 2012 in the Board Room of the Orval Pirtle Administration Building in Athens, with the following members present:
Mr. Ray Raymond               Mr. Homer Norville                 Mr. Jerry Stone        
Mr. Ron Day                        Mr. Jack Endres                     Mr. David Monk
Mrs. Paula Kimball              Mr. Kenneth McGee               Dr. Charlie Risinger
  1. Dr. Risinger opened the meeting with prayer. 
  2. There were no public comments. 
  3. A hearing was held on the proposed redistricting plan.  Dr. David Guinn discussed the proposed redistricting plan.  There were no comments from the public regarding the proposed plan.  Mr. Endres moved, seconded by Mr. Stone, to approve the resolution to adopting the proposed redistricting plan.  Motion carried 8 – 0 with Trustee Kimball abstaining. 
  4. Jennifer Hannigan reported on the community service hours volunteered by TVCC students the last year.  Over 8,800 community service hours were volunteered.  Ms. Hannigan also reported on homecoming activities and upcoming college events.
5.    The following topics were discussed or reviewed in the President’s report:
                             President Forgey reported on the recent TACC meeting.
                             President Forgey reviewed summer enrollment data.
                             President Forgey advised the Board of Summer graduation that will be held on August 17th at 7:00 p.m.
                             President Forgey reminded the Board that the next regularly scheduled Board meeting would be August 27th.
6.         Mr. McGee moved, seconded by Mr. Day, the minutes to the June 25, 2012 Board meeting minutes be approved.  Motion carried unanimously.
7.         Mrs. Kimball moved, seconded by Mr. Stone, the Board approve the business, financial and investment reports for June 2012.  Motion carried unanimously.
8.         Mr. Stone moved, seconded by Mr. Endres, the Board approve the FY12-13 budget workshop date and dates for tax hearings.  Motion carried unanimously.
9.         Dr. Risinger moved, seconded by Mr. Norville, the Board approve the FY12-13 college catalog.  Motion carried unanimously.
10.        Mr. Norville moved, seconded by Dr. Risinger, the Board approve the Fall 2012 Adult and Continuing Education Schedule of Classes and associated fees. Motion carried unanimously.
11.        Mr. Stone moved, seconded by Mr. McGee, the Board approve purchasing athletic and catastrophic insurance from the Baker Agency.  Motion carried unanimously.
12.        Mr.  Norville moved, seconded by Mr. Endres, the Board approve the update to EE (LOCAL) Development of Core Curriculum.  Motion carried unanimously.
13.        Mrs. Kimball moved, seconded by Mr. McGee, the Board approve the Cardettes’ travel request to England next spring.  Motion carried unanimously.
14.        Mr. Monk moved, seconded by Mr. Day, the Board approve using Workers Compensation Solutions as the FY12-13 workers’ compensation insurance carrier.  Motion carried unanimously.
15.        Mr. Endres moved, seconded by Mr. Stone, the Board approve the update to DEA (LOCAL) Compensation and Benefits regarding the definition of the college workweek and use of compensatory time.  Motion carried unanimously.
16.        Mr. Norville moved, seconded by Mrs. Kimball, the Board approve the repainting of cardinal gym floor as proposed.  Motion carried unanimously.
17.        Mrs. Kimball moved, seconded by Mr. Stone, the Board go into closed session at 8:55 p.m. in accordance with Government Codes 551.082, 551.072, and 551.074. Motion carried unanimously.          
18.        Mr. Stone moved, seconded by Mrs. Kimball, the Board return from closed session at 10:00 p.m.
19.   Mr. Endres moved, seconded by Mr. Monk, the Board approve the following personnel actions as amended:
                                    Consider certain personnel matters:
                                    a. Retirements/Resignations:
                                                (1)  Dale Cates, Science Professor, Athens
                                                (2)  Dorothy Houston, Student Services Specialist, Athens
                                                (3)  Amy Lunceford, Executive Assistant I, Athens
                                                (4) Jesse James, Biology Professor, Athens/Palestine
                                                (5) Beau White, Welding Instructor, TDCJ
                                                (6) Jeremy McMillen, Associate VP of Academic Affairs
                                                (7) Sarah Barnett, Student Financial Aid Specialist - Pell
                                    b. New Hires:
                                                (1)  Brandon Barnes, English Professor, Athens
                                                (2)  Lauren Nelson, Financial Aid Associate I, Terrell
                                                (3) Christopher VanNostrand, English/Developmental Studies Professor, Athens
                                                (4) Noelle Depperschmidt, Government Professor, Athens
                                                (5) Vickie Geisel, Psychology Professor, Athens
                                    c. Discuss and consider any changes in reclassification/ adjustments/promotions pertaining to staff.
                                     Sports Information Officer
                                    Motion carried unanimously.
20.   Mr. Norville moved, seconded by Mr. Day, to adjourn the meeting at 10:05 p.m.  Motion carried unanimously.