Trinity Valley Community College

   


Advisement
Center


TVCC - Athens Campus
Admin Bldg, room 124

100 Cardinal Drive
Athens, TX 75751

(903) 675-6350 main
(903) 675-6209 fax

advisinghelp@tvcc.edu

 
Shelia Jones, M.S.
Director of Student
Pathways & Success
(903) 675-6383
sjones@tvcc.edu
 
Melinda Berry, M.A.
Counselor
(903) 675-6224
mlberry@tvcc.edu

Dennis Nolley, M.A.
Advisor
(903) 675-6343
dnolley@tvcc.edu
 


 
TVCC - Palestine Campus
Admin Bldg, room 142

2970 N St Hwy 19
PO Box 2530
Palestine, TX  75802
(903) 729-0256 main
(903) 723-7073 fax
 
Vicki Dossett, M.S.
Counselor
(903) 723-7046
vdossett@tvcc.edu
 
Dr. Jeffrey Watson
Provost


 
TVCC - Terrell Campus
Admin Bldg, room 109

1200 East I-20
PO Box 668
Terrell, TX  75160
(972) 932-4904 main
(972) 563-4961 fax
 
Luanne Bourland, M.E.
Counselor
(972) 563-4932
lbourland@tvcc.edu
 
Dr. Algia Allen
Provost


 
TVCC - Health Science
Center/Kaufman

HSC, room 117

800 Hwy. 243 West
Kaufman, TX  75142
(972) 932-4909 main
(972) 932-5751 fax
 
Jeffrey Ballom, M.S.
Counselor
(972) 932-5721
jballom@tvcc.edu
 
Dr. Helen Reid
Provost

LEARNING DISABILITIES
   
Posted: 3/26/2015 12:42:09 PM


Reading and related language-based learning disabilities

Signs and Symptoms

  • Reads slowly and painfully
  • Experiences decoding errors, especially with the order of letters
  • Shows wide disparity between listening comprehension and reading comprehension of some text
  • Has trouble with spelling
  • May have difficulty with handwriting
  • Exhibits difficulty recalling known words
  • Has difficulty with written language
  • May experience difficulty with math computations
  • Decoding real words is better than nonsense words
  • Substitutes one small sight word for another: a, I, he, the, there, was

Strategies

  • Provide a quiet area for activities like reading, answering comprehension questions
  • Use books on tape
  • Use books with large print and big spaces between lines
  • Provide a copy of lecture notes
  • Don’t count spelling on history, science or other similar tests
  • Allow alternative forms for book reports
  • Allow the use of a laptop or other computer for in-class essays
  • Use multi-sensory teaching methods
  • Teach students to use logic rather than rote memory
  • Present material in small units